Wooden Textures of Time

As an artsy-fartsy photographer-type/aspiring architect, I take great pleasure in taking pictures of different materials. Focusing on constant patterns, repetition, or total randomness is almost therapeutic for some reason.

Hopefully, I’m not alone in this weird obsession, so I wanted to share a few pictures from the old farmhouse my family has been refurbishing. Here we go!

img_1901

This beauty was a rare find. As discussed in a a previous post, the master suite was once a separate house. The original siding of this house was changed to fit the rest of the house, but since the ceilings were lowered in the 60’s, my great grandparents never bothered to update the old siding left above the ceiling.

img_2168

And now we see the real siding. It’s seen some better days. And of course, there’s another attachment. The left is my great uncle’s bedroom that was also added in the 60’s, hence the break and change in the planks. And yes, that is a neolithic-aged air conditioning unit.

img_1919

The flooring gets real fun. Every unit of the house has at least one unique style of flooring. These are skinny planks found in the kitchen. Sadly, these are so thin and flimsy that we can’t quite salvage it. At least I really hope we don’t try, because someone’s going to get killed if we do.

img_1904

Getting mixed feelings? Me too. The bottom is made up of beautiful foot-wide planks. Absolutely beautiful, and in quite good shape too!… But why? Why does the floor change halfway through the living room? That’s just mean. I’m sure there’s a good reason. We’ll find out more in our archaeological adventure.

img_2149

Oh boy, a new patch for the quilt-house. This is actually my own doing. In order to save money (we’re cheap German-Americans), my dad and I built the new morning porch ourselves. It’s a work in progress still, hence the nails laying around and the lack of finish/paint. I just thought the fresh wood would contrast well with all these rustic woods.

img_2073

I got a little artsy here. This is the master bedroom. BEAUTIFUL wide planks again, but sadly they were covered up by two different sheets of vinyl, each with a rectangular hole cut in the center. Why the hole? To save money of course. They planned on putting a puke-orange colored rug over the hole. No joke.

And of course, there’s the original shiplap on the walls. Every southern woman’s dreams thanks to Joanna Gaines. The delicate shade of yellow contrasts with the deep, dark tones of the mold and dirt. How lovely!

img_1917

I regret not taking more close-ups. This is the best I have for my grandmother’s bedroom. We have painted pink planks littered with nails from the former fake-wood-paneling. These walls have some serious water damage, so even if we wanted to keep this interesting contrast of rustic, rusty, and baby pink together, there’s not much hope for us.

img_1902

And lastly, here’s some of our less-attractive planks. I *hope* this is all just sand. The town itself was originally named “Pesak,” meaning sand in Czech. This style was found in a majority of the house. Fingers crossed.

 

 

I hope someone out there is as weird as I am about old and new materials. I guess you can say I’m a… Material Girl. <insert fake laugh here>

img_2589

Concrete is hug-worthy.

Leave a Reply

